University of the Greater Region – UniGR

Choose a university – and participate in shaping a European network!

Within the framework of the "University of the Greater Region" – or UniGR, in short – the University of Kaiserslautern is operating in close collaboration with the Universities of Liège, Luxembourg, Lorraine (with locations in Nancy and Metz), Saarland and Trier. The purpose is an association of universities facilitating the cooperation of students, postgraduate students, lecturers and researchers across borders, thus creating a network in which you can study, graduate, teach and research in an international environment. Together with the Start-Up Office (Gründungsbüro) and the Contact point for information and technology (KIT), the University of Kaiserslautern is heading the subject area of "Intellectual Property and Business Start-up" within this organisation.

For more information on the "University of the Greater Region" in general or its activities, please visit the homepage of the UniGR.

The University of the Greater Region (UniGR)  is an association uniting six universities in five regions and four countries. Within the framework of the UniGR, the TU Kaiserslautern closely cooperates with the universities of Saarland, Lüttich, Luxemburg, Lothringen (Locations: Nancy und Metz) and Trier.

The network was financially supported by funds from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) within the framework of the cross-border Program for European Territorial Cooperation "Greater Region" (INTERREG IVA, 2007-2013). Out of this INTERREG project (duration of 54 months, until April 2013) a close university network was established, which could already celebrate its 10th anniversary in 2018. The University of the Greater Region is coordinated via the central office in Saarbrücken.

In total, the universities of the UniGR comprise about 123,000 students and about 6,500 professors - an enormous potential of knowledge and resources!

The TU Kaiserslaterun is represented in all governing bodies of the University of the Greater Region (UniGR) and thus actively shapes this network of universities - flaked by cooperation in many of the UniGR working groups.

Each of the partner universities is responsible for the supervision and organization of certain focal tasks within the network. The TUK as a project partner is in charge of the coordination of the key area of Material science & resource efficiency and the focus area of intellectual property and business start-ups.

Parallel to the work in the individual focus areas all other topics within the UniGR are supervised by all partner universities. In addition to consulting and supporting all stakeholders at the TUK, the intensive and continuous cooperation with the colleagues at all partner universities (management, administration, professors and students) is being cultivated and further developed.

The TUK has already successfully implemented an important goal ot the UniGR: We implemented the UniGR student status that improves mobility between the partner universities, reduces administrative hurdles and expands cross-border cooperation in research and teaching.

The creation of the guide on the protection of intellectual property also shows the active participation of the TUK in the creation of this university network.


Sophia Dorka
Building 47, Room 632
Phone: +49 (0)631 205 4353

UniGR Student Status
Zum Seitenanfang