Steering Committees

In the year 2007, the president of TU Kaiserslautern set up steering committees (SCs) for strategic promotion and development of research at TU Kaiserslautern

An SC consists of specialist scientists with voting rights who are appointed by the president, as well as advisory members such as the vice president for research and technology, the DFG liaison lecturer and guests such as the research officer. Depending on the case, an SC can also call on other persons for advice.

The tasks of an SC are defined both by the university directorate and the SC itself. These include advising the directorate and other bodies in strategic questions related to research, issuing recommendations and, as needed, moderating the coordination processes.

Specifically, an SC deals with identifying research fields and accompanies invitations by the State of Rheinland-Pfalz, the Federation or the European Union to make bids on the subjects in question. Special importance is attached to realising cooperative research projects and advising and assisting the upcoming generation of scientists.

The following three SCs have been set up at TU Kaiserslautern:

  • SC1: mathematics, computer science, architecture, engineering sciences (BI, EIT, MV)
  • SC2: natural sciences (biology, chemistry, physics)
  • SC3: spacial and environmental planning, social sciences, business studies and economics
Zum Seitenanfang